Quick Answer: Who was the best player in 2014 FIFA World Cup?

Lionel Messi scooped the Fifa Golden Ball, James Rodriguez won the Golden Boot and Manuel Neuer was the standout goalkeeper, but we have opted to name Arjen Robben as the World Cup’s best player.

Who was the best player in 2014 World Cup?

Lionel Messi won the FIFA Golden Ball award for being the best player at the 2014 World Cup. Argentina’s captain picked up four Man of the Match awards in the tournament, but couldn’t lead his side to victory in the final against Germany.

Who won the Golden Ball in 2014 FIFA World Cup?

Golden Ball

With only three players (James Rodriguez, Neymar and Arjen Robben) not competing in the finals, it was clear that this was going to be a competitive award. In the end, the voters decided that Messi was the best of the bunch despite his loss in the final match against Germany.

IT IS INTERESTING:  When did the NFL add more games?

Who won the best goal in 2014 World Cup?

James Rodriguez struck the best goal of the 2014 World Cup for Colombia against Uruguay in the round-of-16 clash, collecting a pass on his chest, turning and volleying an unstoppable effort past the goalkeeper and in off the crossbar from 25 yards.

Who was the runner up of FIFA World Cup 2014?

2014 FIFA World Cup

Copa do Mundo da FIFA Brasil 2014
Champions Germany (4th title)
Runners-up Argentina
Third place Netherlands
Fourth place Brazil

Who is the No 1 footballer in the world?

Top 50 Best Performing Football Players in the World

Rank Name Team
Rank Name Team
1 Lionel Messi Barcelona
2 Robert Lewandowski Bayern
3 Neymar Jr. PSG

Who is a God of football?

He was none other than Diego Maradona, one of the world’s greatest football players, also called ‘The God of Football’. He saw heaven and hell on Earth and died Wednesday at the age of 60. Maradona was a player who, apart from scoring goals, also made mistakes.

Who won the Golden Boot in?

Past winners

The award is held by Jamie Vardy, who claimed the 2019/20 prize with 23 goals for Leicester City. Arsenal’s Thierry Henry has won the Golden Boot a record four times and is one of only two players to have won the award three years in a row, between 2003/04 and 2005/06.

What is the difference between Golden Boot and Golden Shoe?

The Golden Boot or Golden Shoe Award goes to the top goalscorer of the FIFA World Cup. While every World Cup had a ranking of the goalscorers, the first time an award was given was in 1982, under the name Golden Shoe. … FIFA sometimes lists the top goalscorers of previous Cups among the Golden Boot winners.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you challenge a turnover in the NFL?

Who won the Golden Boot in 2006 World Cup?

World Cup Award Winners

Year Golden Ball Golden Boot
2014 Lionel Messi James Rodriguez
2010 Diego Forlan Thomas Muller
2006 Zinedine Zidane Miroslav Klose
2002 Oliver Kahn Ronaldo

Who won the World Cup 2010?

Spain national football team

Who is the best player in 2013?

Lionel Messi has retained the top spot in this year’s Guardian’s choice of the world’s top 100 footballers, which also sees Franck Ribéry, Gareth Bale and Luis Suárez make impressive leaps into the top ten.

Where was the first Cricket World Cup held?

World Cup 1975 Final

Winners Runners-up Year/Host Nation
1. West Indies Australia 1975/England
2. West Indies England 1979/ England
3. India West Indies 1983/ England
4. Australia England 1987/ India & Pakistan

Who won the soccer World Cup 2014?

Germany national football team

Who won the World Cup 2013?

The match was reduced to 20 overs per side starting at 16.20, the floodlights were on for the duration of the match.

Edgbaston, Birmingham
Toss England, elected to field first
Player Of The Match Ravindra Jadeja
Player Of The Series Shikhar Dhawan
Series result India won the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy

Which country won the FIFA World Cup 2014?

2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™

11 meters