Yes, as long as you abide by the rules and are the right distances away. There have been instances of a goal kick being blocked by an attacking player who either scored from that block, or went on to score seconds later.
Can you block a punt in soccer?
While players have a right to maintain a position achieved during the normal course of play, they may not try to block the goalkeeper’s movement while he is holding the ball or do anything which hinders, interferes with, or blocks the goalkeeper who is throwing or punting the ball back into play.
Can you block the goalie on a corner kick?
A player may not shield the ball if it is not in playing distance. For example, if a player stands in front of the goalkeeper on a corner kick, and then moves to prevent the goalkeeper getting around them, this should be called as impeding.
What is the new goal kick rule in soccer?
The new goal kick procedure is as follows: The ball must be stationary and is kicked from any point within the goal area by a player of the defending team. The ball is in play when it leaves the penalty area is kicked and clearly moves. Opponents must be outside the penalty area until the ball is in play.
Can a goalkeeper score from a drop kick?
No more, however. Under the revised rule book that went into effect June 1, a goalkeeper can’t score by throwing the ball into another team’s goal. If that somehow happens, it would be a goal kick. The International Football Association Board, which writes soccer’s Laws of the Game, tweeted about the rule yesterday.
Can you tackle goalkeeper?
[a] goalkeeper cannot be challenged by an opponent when in control of the ball with the hands. A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball: while the ball is between his hands or between his hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body)
Can you interfere with a goalkeeper?
As long as the goalkeeper has hand control of the ball, including when he is in the process of releasing it (i.e., throwing or kicking the ball), no opponent can interfere with the release or challenge for the ball. …
Can a goalkeeper put the ball down then pick it up again?
A goalkeeper is permitted to trap the ball with a part of the body other than the hands or feet and then pick it up any time after unless a teammate touches the ball during this time.
Can you take a corner kick to yourself?
A corner kick is also awarded instead of an own goal if a team places the ball directly into its own goal from certain restarts (e.g., throw-in, free kick, etc.), though this is rare.
Can a goalie dribble the ball back into the box and then pick it up?
The Goalkeeper IS allowed to go outside the Penalty Box and dribble or kick the ball back inside the Penalty Box and THEN pick it up with his hands. … He must wear a shirt or jersey that is recognizably different from all other players (goalkeepers often wear special jerseys with padded elbows).
Can a goal be scored directly from a throw in?
A throw-in is awarded to the opponents of the player who last touched the ball when the whole of the ball passes over the touchline, on the ground or in the air. A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in: if the ball enters the opponents’ goal – a goal kick is awarded.
What is the two touch rule?
A player cannot touch the ball twice in a row when putting the ball in play. You will see this called many times in youth soccer. It applies everywhere. You will see it frequently on kick-offs or direct and indirect kicks.
Is unintentional handball a penalty?
So that means a player will be penalised for handball if: … Immediately after touching the ball with the arm, even accidentally, the player scores a goal or creates a goal-scoring opportunity.
Has any goalkeeper ever scored a hat trick?
In November 1999, Paraguayan José Luis Chilavert became only the second goalkeeper to score a hat-trick with three penalties for Vélez Sársfield in a 6–1 victory against Ferro Carril Oeste, and in the following year he and Argentine Roberto Bonano from River Plate both scored in the same Copa Mercosur match.
Who is the highest scoring goalkeeper?
Rogerio Ceni (131 Goals)
As mentioned above, Rogerio Ceni is not only the highest goal scoring goalkeeper of all time but also the holder of a number of records.
Who scored the longest goal ever?
The record for the longest goal scored in football history belongs to goalkeeper Tom King after he scored from 105 yards (96.01m) for Newport County against Cheltenham Town. King scored direct from a goal kick during the match, which was played on January 19, 2021.