When did Chile host the World Cup?

Campeonato Mundial de Fútbol – Copa Jules Rimet Chile 1962
1962 FIFA World Cup official logo
Tournament details
Host country Chile
Dates 30 May17 June

When did Chile win the World Cup?

2010 World Cup

In the first match, Chile defeated Honduras 1–0. The goal was scored on a deflection off of Jean Beausejour in the first half. It was their first win at the World Cup since they beat Yugoslavia for third place at the 1962 FIFA World Cup.

Why was Chile banned from the World Cup?

Around the 67th minute, the Chilean goalkeeper, Roberto Rojas, fell to the ground due to being hit by a firework. The team refused to continue to play and the match went unfinished. … FIFA awarded Brazil the win, banned Chile from the 1994 World Cup, and banned Rojas for life.

Who won the 1962 World Cup?

Сборная Бразилии по футболу

How many World Cups does Chile have?

Chile have appeared in nine FIFA World Cup finals to date, which were in 1930, 1950, 1962 (which they hosted), 1966, 1974, 1982, 1998, 2010 and 2014. Their best performance was in 1962, where they finished in third place.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How do you dribble and pass a soccer ball?

What are the main religions in Chile?

Religion in Chile

The majority of Chileans are Roman Catholics (55-60% depending on the study), and around 15% are Cristian Protestant, making it one of the nations in Latin America with the greatest Protestant influence.

What is soccer called in Chile?

The Chile national football team (Spanish: Selección de fútbol de Chile) represents Chile in men’s international football competitions and is controlled by the Federación de Fútbol de Chile which was established in 1895. The team is commonly referred to as La Roja (“The Red One”).

Football is the most popular sport in Chile, and is played for a range of reasons. However, the country’s most successful sport is tennis. In rural areas, Chilean rodeo is the most practiced sport in Chile, which is the national sport.

Which country won the last Copa America?

The most recent Copa América, hosted by the United States in 2016, was won by Chile national football team, who beat Argentina 4–2 in the penalty shootout to obtain the title, after a 0–0 draw.

Results by nation.

Team Peru
Titles 2 (1939*, 1975)
Runners-up 1 (2019)
Total finals 3

Who won World Cup 1958?

Brazil national football team

Where was the 1962 World Cup?


Who won the World Cup in 1970?

Brazil national football team

Is Chile in the 2018 World Cup?

Chile went from comfortably qualifying for the 2018 World Cup to missing out on the tournament altogether in the space of 90 minutes following their 3-0 defeat to Brazil on Tuesday night at Allianz Parque in Sao Paulo, Brazil. … The five-time world champions finish qualification as the top country in CONMEBOL.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How will the 2022 World Cup work?

Did Chile qualify for the World Cup 2018?

Two-time defending Copa América champions Chile did not qualify for 2018 FIFA World Cup after a 3–0 loss to Brazil on the final day of qualifying campaign, resulting in a sixth-place finish.

11 meters