The NCAA rule change allows a returner to signal for a fair catch (preventing the defenders from tackling him), field the kickoff anywhere short of his 25-yard line and have his team’s offense start at the 25. The rule is simple; deciding how it applies to both the returners and coverage teams is complex.
What is the college football fair catch rule?
What is college football’s new kickoff fair-catch rule? The receiving team on a kickoff can call for a fair catch inside its own 25-yard line and have it result in a touchback. If that happens, the offense starts at the 25. The aim of the rule is to discourage kickoff returns.
What is the new fair catch rule?
If you missed the news, the NCAA has changed a kickoff rule which will go into effect immediately next season. The rule change makes any fair catch on a kickoff result in the ball being dead and giving the receiving team the ball on the 25-yard line.
Where is the ball placed on a fair catch in college football?
The reaction presented a teachable moment for the referee, who flipped on his microphone and announced: “By the new rule, a fair catch on a kick places the ball at the 25-yard line. First down.” Yes, it’s going to take time to get used to the NCAA’s new kickoff rule.
Do you have to catch the ball on a fair catch?
The player who signaled for a fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the muffed ball before it hits the ground without interference by members of the kicking team, and regardless of whether the ball strikes another player or an official.
What happens if a punt goes into the endzone?
A kickoff or punt enters the end zone and is downed by the receiving team without the ball being advanced beyond the goal line. … If a kicked-off ball goes into the end zone and then is recovered by a member of the kicking team, it is a touchdown for the kicking team, when the ball is touched by the receivers.
What happens if you fair catch a kickoff?
A fair catch is a feature of American football and several other codes of football, in which a player attempting to catch a ball kicked by the opposing team – either on a kickoff or punt – is entitled to catch the ball without interference from any member of the kicking team.
Does a fair catch count as a return?
Elias’s ruling: If a player does NOT signal for a fair catch, and is interfered with, charge a downed punt to the punter. NO kick return, kick return yards, or fair catch to the returner.
Where do you start after a fair catch?
After a fair catch, the ball is next put in play by the receiving team at the dead-ball spot (or at the succeeding spot after enforcement of any applicable penalties).
Can you fair catch a kickoff NFL?
Remember, the free kick is only an option on the very next play after a fair catch. The fair catch kick rule is very rarely used in the NFL. The last player to attempt a fair catch field goal was Phil Dawson, who tried a 71-yarder for the 49ers in 2013.
Can you catch your own punt?
Simply put, a punt is a scrimmage kick. Therefore, any member of the punt team is allowed to catch or recover a punt as long as it is behind the neutral zone, basically the line of scrimmage, and then advance that ball.
Why is the ball placed on the 25 yard line?
Under the proposal, a successful fair catch made inside the receiving team’s own 25-yard line would result in a touchback and the ball would be placed at the 25. … Moving the touchback up incentivized receiving teams to take a knee more often when the kickoff traveled into the end zone.
Can the kicking team recover a kickoff?
Members of the kicking team can recover the ball after the kick travels 10 yards or the ball touches an opponent. … The receiving team gets the ball on its own 35-yard line if the kickoff goes out of bounds before reaching the end zone.
Can a punt returner kick the ball?
After signaling for a fair catch, the punt returner can’t advance the ball. … If the returner muffs a kick, or fails to gain possession, the punting team may not advance the ball if they recover it. If the returner gains possession and then fumbles, however, the punting team may advance the ball.
What happens if the punting team touches the ball?
If caught, the ball becomes dead and the receiving team gets the ball at the spot of the catch. If a player from the kicking team is the first to touch the ball after it crosses the line of scrimmage, “illegal touching” is called and the receiving team gains possession at the spot where the illegal touching occurred.
How many points is a safety worth?
Safeties are two points. Point after attempts are one points. And then there is the one-point safety.