Officially an incomplete pass, a spike play stops the clock at the cost of exhausting a down without any gain in yardage. It is principally used when a team is conducting a hurried drive late in a half, and the game clock is running after the previous play.
Why can you spike the ball in football?
In gridiron football, a spike of the ball is a play in which the quarterback intentionally throws the ball at the ground immediately after the snap. A spike is technically an incomplete pass, and therefore, it has the effect of stopping the clock and exhausting a down.
Why is a spike not a fumble?
A player under center is permitted to stop the game clock legally to save time if, immediately upon receiving the snap, he begins a continuous throwing motion and throws the ball directly into the ground. … So spiking is legal only if the snap was not fumbled, unlike the NFL.
When did spiking the ball become legal?
This strategy for stopping the clock became legal in the early 1990s and has become standard operating procedure around the league since. It is a legal form of intentional grounding, since the quarterback is not looking to avoid a sack and immediately throws the ball to the ground after taking the snap.
Can you spike the ball in college football to stop the clock?
NCAA Football Rule Change 2013: Spiking the Ball with Under Three Seconds Left. … To establish three seconds as the minimum amount of time required to be on the game clock in order to spike the ball to stop the clock. If one or two seconds remain on the clock, there is only time for the offense to run one more play.
Can you fake spike in NFL?
A fake spike is a trick play in American football. When the clock is running low, it is not uncommon for a quarterback to spike the ball to stop the clock, either to set up for the next play or bring on the special teams.
Is it illegal to spike a football in the NFL?
Spiking the ball remains legal in the NFL, where it is not interpreted as excessive celebration unless the ball is spiked towards another player on the opposing team. The maneuver is attributed to Homer Jones of the New York Giants in 1965.
Can you spike the football backwards?
Except Nix spiked it backwards, which meant it should have been a live ball fumble. You can see the referee running in to throw the intentional grounding flag, which is the correct ruling if a quarterback spikes it after fumbling the snap. … “The ball went backwards 6 yards.
Can you spike the ball out of shotgun?
The popularity of shotgun/pistol formations has led to an expansion of the rule allowing a quarterback to spike the ball. The NFHS said the exception in Rule 7-5-2 regarding an illegal forward pass being a foul was expanded. … However, spiking the ball from this formation has been illegal until now.
Who was the first player to spike a football?
The “touchdown spike”: New York Giants wide receiver Homer Jones is credited as the first player to throw the ball into the field at his feet after scoring a touchdown. He first did this move in 1965, calling it a “spike”, and it is said to be the origin of post-touchdown celebrations.
Does spiking the ball count as an incompletion?
Farmer: A spike is considered an incomplete pass and is counted as such. … However, if that player delays that spike for strategic purposes, including dropping back at all, it is intentional grounding even if he is not under pressure from pass rushers.
Does a fumble have to touch the ground?
However, in the NFL and CFL, if a ball carrier falls without an opponent contacting him, the ground can indeed cause a fumble. … It is also possible for the ground to cause a fumble in college football if the ball hits the ground before any part of the ball carrier’s body (other than the hand or foot) touches the ground.
Why is intentional grounding never called?
Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, who is outside, or has been outside, the tackle position,throws a forward pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including when the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or …
When can quarterback throw ball away?
The big difference is that QB must run outside the pocket, aka to the left or right along the line of scrimmage, beyond the area where his offensive line defends him. Then he can throw the ball out of bounds, as long as he throws it beyond the line of scrimmage.
How many times can a team hit the ball before it needs to go over the net?
There is a rule that dictates that a team may not hit the ball more than three times before the ball travels back over the net or touches a player from the opposite team. Three is a maximum number of hits, not a required number.
What is the difference between intentional grounding and throwing it away?
Intentional grounding is when you’re in the pocket (you might have to be under pressure) and throw the ball away without any eligible receiver in the area. Throwing the ball away is when you have an eligible receiver in the area.