The Obstruction rule actually doesn’t exist in the rules of the game anymore and is now called “impeding the progress of an opponent”. It basically means moving into the path of the opponent to obstruct, block, slow down or force a change of direction when the ball is not within playing distance of either opponent.
What does obstruction mean in soccer?
“Impeding the Progress of an Opponent” is an “Indirect Kick Foul” in soccer (see “Fouls, Indirect Kick, Impeding The Progress Of An Opponent”). This used to be called “obstruction”. Generally, a player cannot use his body to impede another player’s movements, even if it is not deliberate.
Why is shielding the ball not obstruction?
Shielding is a legitimate skill. ‘shepharding’ the ball out of play is not obstruction as the player can still reach the ball. This is not the point of the rule. The rule is made so that people can’t block each other, NFL football style, from going where they want to go.
Is Shielding allowed in soccer?
Shielding the ball is permitted. … If the player cannot legally play the ball or if the ball is not within playing distance, such shielding becomes “impeding the progress of an opponent” and should be penalized by an indirect free kick.
Does the 6 second rule still apply?
Goalkeepers can only hold the ball for 6 seconds
Now, sometimes it can feel as if referees don’t enforce this particular law. … However, in 2015, Liverpool goalkeeper Simon Mignolet held onto the ball for a whopping 22 seconds against Bordeaux in the Europa League.
What is a push pass in soccer?
The instep or push pass is a common pass used in soccer. To do a push pass, you use the inside of the foot (along the arch) to push the ball forward. As a result, the hip and leg/knee must rotate outwards to allow contact with the ball. … The ball is struck in the middle.
How do you get a goal kick in soccer?
A goal kick is awarded when the whole of the ball passes over the goal line, on the ground or in the air, having last touched a player of the attacking team, and a goal is not scored.
Can you lift your own player in football?
The player doing the lifting, or the player doing the climbing is cautioned for unsporting behaviour, and the opponents are awarded an indirect free kick from where the lift/climb occurred. Although this is not explicitly mentioned in the Laws of the Game, it is known to be unsporting behaviour through tradition.
Is obstruction in the box a penalty?
‘Impeding the progress of an opponent means moving into the path of the opponent to obstruct, block, slow down or force a change of direction by an opponent when the ball is not within playing distance of either player. ‘ The penalty for impeding remains an indirect free-kick.
Can you sit on the ball in football?
It is an obstruction. The call is IFK. But as the player is sitting on the ball, he’s not impeding a moving player, keeping him from reaching the ball, and the opponents CAN kick the ball. Definitely ‘playing in a dangerous manner’ and an IFK.
What are the 9 major fouls in soccer?
9 Major Soccer Offenses
- Kicking (or trying to kick) an opponent.
- Tripping an opponent.
- Jumping at an opponent.
- Charging an opponent in particularly dangerous or violent way.
- Charging an opponent from behind in a violent way.
- Striking or attempting to strike an opponent.
- Holding an opponent.
- Pushing an opponent.
How much pushing is allowed in soccer?
Everyone knows that pushing is not allowed in soccer. However, “fair charging” is actually a legal form of pushing and occurs when two players are contesting for the ball. To be considered “fair charging,” the ball must be within playing distance from the players, say 6 feet or so, and the players shoulder-to-shoulder.
Did the English invent soccer?
Records trace the history of soccer back more than 2,000 years ago to ancient China. Greece, Rome, and parts of Central America also claim to have started the sport; but it was England that transitioned soccer, or what the British and many other people around the world call “football,” into the game we know today.
Can a throw-in be a goal?
A throw-in is awarded to the opponents of the player who last touched the ball when the whole of the ball passes over the touchline, on the ground or in the air. A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in: if the ball enters the opponents’ goal – a goal kick is awarded.
Can you score from a throw-in if the keeper touches it?
The throw-in is taken by the opponents of the player who last touched the ball before it crossed the touch-line. … A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in; if a player throws the ball directly into their own goal without any other player touching it, the result is a corner kick to the opposing side.
How many steps can a goalkeeper take with the ball?
From 1 July, referees have been given mandatory instructions not to permit the goalkeeper to take more than four steps while holding the ball as stipulated in Law 12, and if the goalie holds the ball for more than five or six seconds the referee must adjudge this as time-wasting and award an indirect free-kick against …