Who won the Football League in 1980?

Season 1980–81
Champions Aston Villa
← 1979–80 1981–82 →

Who won the Premier League in 1980?

Premier League » Champions

Year Winner Country
1981 Aston Villa England
1980 Liverpool FC England
1979 Liverpool FC England
1978 Nottingham Forest England

Who won the Football League in 1979?

The 1979–80 season was the 81st completed season of The Football League. Bob Paisley’s Liverpool retained their league championship trophy after fighting off a determined challenge by Dave Sexton’s Manchester United.

Who won the Premier League 1981?

1981 – The Year Of Last Ever First Eleven? – Aston Villa Win The League Using Just 14 Players. May 1981 saw Aston Villa win the League Championship for the first time in 71 years.

Who won the Premier League in 1982?

15 May 1982: Liverpool win the Football League championship for the 13th time after they beat Tottenham Hotspur 3–1 and Ipswich Town lose 3–1 at home to Nottingham Forest.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is American football called gridiron?

Who is the most decorated footballer?

1. Dani Alves: 39 (Bahia, Sevilla, Barcelona, Juventus, and PSG) Dani Alves left Barcelona with 23 major honors in eight years. The 35-year-old right back still remains the best at his position.

Who has won the most FA Cups?

Winners of multiple* FA Cup titles from 1872 to 2020

Number of titles
Arsenal FC 14
Manchester United 12
Chelsea FC 8
Tottenham Hotspur 8

Who won the Football League in 1974?

First Division

Season 1973–74
Champions Leeds United (2nd English title)
Relegated Manchester United, Norwich City, Southampton
1974–75 European Cup Leeds United
FA Cup winners 1974–75 European Cup Winners’ Cup Liverpool (2nd FA Cup title)

Who won the Premier League in 1977?

1976–77 Football League First Division

Season 1976–77
Champions Liverpool (10th English title)
Relegated Stoke City Sunderland, Tottenham Hotspur
1977–78 European Cup Liverpool
FA Cup winners 1977–78 European Cup Winners’ Cup Manchester United (4th FA Cup title)

Who won the league in 1987?

1987–88 Football League

Season 1987–88
Champions Liverpool
Relegated Newport County
New club in League Scarborough
← 1986–87 1988–89 →

Who won the Premier League in 1983?

Liverpool had a successful first season under the management of Joe Fagan as they wrapped up their third successive league title and the 15th in their history. They overcame strong competition from Southampton, Nottingham Forest and Manchester United to lift the championship trophy.

Who won the league in 1990 91?

On 6 May 1991, Arsenal were crowned champions after beating Manchester United 3–1 while title challengers Liverpool who finished second, lost 2–1 to Nottingham Forest.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Do soccer players wear compression socks?

Who won the Premier League in 1989?

26 May 1989 – Arsenal win the league title in the final moments of the season thanks to a late goal from Michael Thomas against Liverpool which gives them a 2–0 away win. First Division top scorer Alan Smith had put Arsenal ahead earlier in the second half.

Who won the Premier League in 1984?

28 March 1984: Liverpool win an unprecedented fourth successive Football League Cup by beating Everton 1–0 in the replay at Maine Road with captain Graeme Souness scoring the only goal of the game.

Who won the FA Cup in 1982?

Tottenham Hotspur F.C.

Who won the FA Cup in 1983?

Manchester United F.C.

11 meters